trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Wed Jul 17, 2024 9:42 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 4:14 pm 
Friend
Friend

First off, a big hello to everyone! I've been sifting through the forum for a while now, pointed this direction by JamesO, lots of great info to be found!

Quick bit of background: I'm a guitar maker and player, neither professionally, although I like to think I'm a better builder than I am a player. I tend to spend more time building than playing, anyway, so here's hoping that's true! Thing is, making things makes you see other things and decide you can probably make those too, and when someone like James posts a completed, very pretty amp in a guitar making forum, someone like me gets ideas.

Long story short: I just paid Stephen for a TC-15 kit + transformer set + set of tubes. It'll be a while arriving, as I'm having it shipped ground to the Netherlands, which gives me time to polish up my schematic reading skills, peruse the basic amp book I've got to try and understand what's going on, etc.

Now, I'm thinking of making a few modifications to the 'standard' amp kit. Let's start with what I suspect is fairly simple:

- pentode/triode switch for the EF86 preamp tube, as found on the Vox AC-15 heritage handwired series. Briefly tried one out, and I really liked the 'cleanup' that provided.

- Pentode/triode / Half power switch for the amp overall. Again, Heritage Handwired. 15 watts is still frighteningly loud, and sometimes I don't want to kill the neighbours.

Anyone done this? Anything to keep in mind/tips for wiring it up properly (ie, cable runs, layout, that sort of thing)