trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2024 7:48 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:54 am 
Friend
Friend

Hey guys, just a newbie here with a question about choosing a Trinity to get close to this tone - if it's possible with any mods:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jroPQqp9F4I

I sent the above clip to Zaphod, and he suggested that I post it here - to see if someone can steer me in the right direction.

Please keep in mind, I know this is a completely different animal than any of the Trintiy amps. This is a 100 watt Wizard Modern Classic. But, there's something amazing about the "tightness" of the string articulation, chords etc. Compare this sound to the clip below, from the Trinity site:
http://www.trinityamps.com/clips/triwat ... 1b2n29.mp3

Both clips are using a Gretsch, and have some similar tones, (I'll assume because of the Gretsch. But, the TRIWATT - as far as my ears hear it, doesn't have the same punch, or tightness as the sound in the Wizard clip. To my ears, the Wizard's tone is very tight, and has a TON of honk and growl, immediate bark and bite - sounds very Marshall, whereas the TRIWATT sounds a little more saggy, or looser, there's a softer drive to it.

Is it possible to get that similar and immediate bite out of TRIWATT, or an 18 watt Plexi Trinity? Or am I being ridiculous to think that you can get this sound from anything less than a 50 or 100 watt?

From your experience(s), what would get me closer to the Wizard's tightness and bite. Much thanks guys.

PostPosted: Sat Apr 11, 2009 11:21 am 
Expert
Expert

Maltone wrote:
I sent the above clip to Zaphod, and he suggested that I post it here - to see if someone can steer me in the right direction.

I don't recall saying that. :shock: However, IMO it's good idea to get a range of viewpoints and opinions. :) What I actually said was,
zaphod wrote: