trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2024 7:47 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 10:26 am 
Friend
Friend

I'm just getting into my first attempt at building an amp and have what will be an 18 watt sIII splayed across my desk. I've wired the heaters, and am now populating the board. I've a couple quick questions (so far - i'm sure there will be more). If mine works out half as good as some of yours I'll be thrilled. Lots of inspiration here.

Anyway-

First, the little yellow capacitors; I'm assuming the black line on the end designates the polarity, correct? The drawing doesn't seem to indicate which way they go in so I've just been following other peoples pics.

two, the manual says when wiring the IEC, that (L) or hot side goes to the lug on the SIDE of the fuse holder, but my drawing and some of the pics posted here suggest it goes to the lug at the END of the fuse. Which is correct?

Lastly, do the dotted black lines on the drawing designate a specific type of wire or is it the same as the rest?

cheers

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 10:44 am 
Experienced
Experienced

Hi! Wecome aboard!
The band on the caps marks the outside foil conection. It doesn't really matter which way they are installed BUT some people claim it makes subtle differences, I think as far as noise is concerned. I think Phil or Coco documented which way round they prefer on a Triwatt so you might do a search for that and get some ideas. On the caps to ground the band will go to the ground side
The dotted line indicates the wire is on the back side of the board. Any of the supplied wire will do.
As for the fuse holder....I don't know if it matters. Technically it's the same.
Stew

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 11:13 am 
Experienced
Experienced

found this
viewtopic.php?t=760&highlight=foil

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 31, 2009 1:14 pm 
Friend
Friend

hey thanks. that helped a lot.