Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Tue Jul 16, 2024 3:35 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 11:25 am 
Friend
Friend

http://tubedepot.com/jj-ecc803s.html
http://tubedepot.com/jj-ecc803g.html

Above are links to descriptions of the two tubes in question.

I am at the point where I want to purchase tubes for the TMB kit I'm about to put together, and I'm still learning what all the different Preamp positions are all about. Going strictly on Tube Depot's suggestion for the gold version of this tube, I would put it in the PI in order to drive the power tubes harder... but I have read a suggestion here on this forum that is contrary to this, and that a hi-gain tube should go in V1.

Also, if I were to purchase this tube for either V1, or the PI, how much of a difference would the gold leads make if no other tube in my amp has the gold leads? The descriptions on Tube Depot's page are completely different, so I wonder if the performance of the one tube really is that drastically different than the one with the non-gold pins.

Additionally, I originally planned on going with the new production Mullard 12ax7s for V1 and V2. Any suggestions on how to incorporate this fancy Hi-Performance JJ (if at all)?

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:56 am 
Expert
Expert

IMO the "Mullard" branded 12AX7s sound better than the JJs in terms of clarity and sweetness of tone. And just ignore the gold-plated snake oil.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:49 pm 
Friend
Friend