trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Fri Jun 28, 2024 3:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 12:38 pm 

I just ordered a plexi kit, and I have a couple of questions. I am a big fan of simple, and when I look at the layout I see the small terminal strips for the inputs for V1 pins 2, and 7. What I have seen in other amps, and I am thinking about doing in my build as long as there is no reason not to is to solder one end of the resistor to the input jack, and the other ends of the resistors together with the shielded cable, and then only have one cable each channel, and no terminal strips. I have a lot of experience soldering, so I know how to do a proper strong inline connection. Is there any reason not to do this?

And since this is my first post here is a little about me. I studied electronics engineering technology at NAIT, and I have been servicing laboratory equipment since I graduated in 2001. I have worked on million dollar automation equipment, right down to small simple $200 pipettes. Most of the work I did was on flow cytometry systems, aligning optical assemblies, and lasers, optimizing PMTs (photo multiplier tubes), and some basic IT on the computer systems used for collecting data. I have always been interested in tube amps, and I have always wanted to build tube amps. This is my first build, but I am sure that it will not be my last :D I am already planning some mods on the plexi once I have it all up, and running. I am trying to capture a raw aggressive sound that I heard from a couple of different plexi based amps mainly a Mako Makoplex, and a Wizard, but at a lower volume, and on a platform that I can play around with a mod a bit to taste.

EVH 5150 III
Peters dual channel
EVH 2x12 cab

PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 1:20 pm 
Expert
Expert

Welcome!

Check this out (specifically the third section)
http://www.aikenamps.com/InputRes.htm

Hope that clears things up :)