trinityamps.com

Trinity Amps Guitar Amp Forum
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:21 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 18 Watt sIII Build
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2021 12:49 am 
Friend
Friend

I've been researching 18 watt kits for several months and finally settled on the Trinity 18 Watt sIII kit. I've built a couple of pedals, but this will be a much larger undertaking, obviously. I've spent a number of hours here, in other forums and watching YouTube videos so that I would be prepared as much as possible to successfully complete the amp.

I received my kit about two weeks ago. Prior to it arriving, I built a caddy from plans I found on the Internet in order to have a solid base to work from. When I got the kit, the packaging was slightly damaged and I found the top cover of the power transformer was ever so slightly dented. After conferring with Stephen, I removed the cover and pushed out the dent - good as new. Everything else made it through unscathed and with the exception of a machine screw and two nuts, all present and accounted for.

As the pictures below show, I've finished the wiring of the heaters, power and output (partially) transformers and the associated components. I did run into a bit of an issue with the fuse holder as the chassis hole wasn't drilled to the correct size. It was a relatively easy fix and Stephen is aware of the issue. I finished the wiring today and did the initial power up: I got an indicator light and no smoke or sparks! All the voltages tested right where they should be (thank goodness!)

My next task over the next few days will be to assemble the turret board. All the parts for it are sorted and identified, which will hopefully mean a bit smoother construction process. When it's all built, I plan on building a head cabinet and 2x12 extension cabinet from Cherry. The speakers, Warehouse Guitar's ET-90 and Retro 30, are en route and will be here Wednesday. I will update this thread with progress as it happens.